What is Astrology?

Astronomy is the basis of Astrology. The Zodiac is divided into 12 equal parts, known as signs, each being 30 degrees in extent. The Solar system is headed by the Sun and consists, including himself, of 7 Planets. Along with these are included the shadowy planets Rahu and Kethu. The ecliptic is marked by 27 constellations or nakshatras. They are measured at intervals of 13-1/3 degrees of longitude from the first point of Sign ie. Aries.

Astrology is the study of the relationship between the stars and planets and their influences on human life. Astrology involves the interpretation of the horoscope or birth chart based on the strengths of Signs and Planets.Astrology deals with various aspects of Life. It deals with Longevity Health, Business, Financial Gains, Emotional Stability, Prosperity, Marriage, Compatibility and the like. It has the capacity to predict the future course of events in one’s life.

How Astrology Works

The astrologer's main tool is the birth chart. This is the position of houses, planets and nakshatras at the time, place and date of birth of the individual to whom it will refer. It shows the positions of all the planets in the houses of zodiac at the time of birth.

The skill of the astrologer is to interpret the birth chart, which is said to set the pattern for the growth of the person throughout his or her life. In other words, what will happen is described by the positions of the planets and the signs of the zodiac at birth. It is also known as Natal Chart or Rasi chart.

The Birth Chart

The Birth chart is a map of heavens showing the houses of zodiac and the planets as seen from one's place of birth and this is the reason why astrologers need your time, date and place of birth to draw up an accurate chart. For ordinary purposes of prediction a Natal Chart with the Ascendant indicated is sufficient. The Navamsa chart also plays a unique part in Vedic Astrology.

The main constituents of the birth chart are the:

The ascendant is the rising sign at the time of birth at the eastern horizon and it is also called the lagna.

Houses  ‖  Planets  ‖  Nakshatras